KSC Women's DMR Team Qualifies For NCAA Meet

KEENE 3/2/02 - For the first time in the history of the program, the Keene State College women's indoor track team has qualified a relay team for the NCAA Championships.

The Owls' distance medley relay (DMR) team accomplished that feat when it placed first in the ECAC Championships at Tufts University on Friday night. The team, comprised of Stephanie Gibson (Sanbornton, N.H.), Ellen Histen (So. Kingstown, R.I.), Laurie Yorgensen (Wethersfield, CT), and Mary Proulx (Ashland, N.H.) won the race in an ECAC Meet record time of 12:07.53.

In other events on Saturday, Nicole Geyselaers (Cornwall Bridge, CT) was fourth in the long jump (17'4"), and Sadie Purinton (Northfield, NH) took fifth (5' 2 1/2") in the high jump.

KSC placed 15th at the meet with 21 points. Wheaton (MA.)College won the team title with 93 points.

The Keene State men's DMR (Josh Ferenc/Keene, NH), Dave Bridgewater /Unionville, CT, Adrian Packard/Richmond, NH, and Mark Miller/Shelburne Falls, MA.) fourth at the meet with an NCAA provisional time of 10:12.73.

The Owl men placed 29th overall in the 45-team field with 6.5 points. The College of New Jersey ran away with the championship with 111 points.

In addition to the women's DMR, the Owls have to other automatic qualifiers for the NCAA Division III Indoor Track Championships which will take place next weekend at Ohio Northern University in Ada, Ohio. Both Miller and Proulx have qualified in the men's and women's 1,500-meter races respectively.

Arthur Dybizbanski (Goffstown, NH) (high jump), Geyselaers (long jump), Oksana Anohina (hurdles) and Sadie Purinton (high jump) have provisional marks in their respective events, and will find out this week if they will be a part of the championship field.